[vc_custom_heading text=”IEEE Victorian Section Student Paper Competition” font_container=”tag:h2|text_align:center” google_fonts=”font_family:Montserrat%3Aregular%2C700|font_style:400%20regular%3A400%3Anormal”]

The Victorian Section actively supports student members in their academic journey through an annual student paper contest.

The paper competition will be judged once a year. The winner and runner up will receive a certificate and the IEEE Victorian Section will give $1,300 to the winner and $700 to the runner up as a cash prize. Certificates of merit for up to 3 additional runners up may be issued.

The papers may be on any subject in the field of interest of IEEE (within the scope of IEEE transactions). Students are encourage to submit papers that will be judged by an expert panel of academics and industry representatives.

Student Paper Contest Chair – Dr. Andre Oboler (oboler@ieee.org)

Applicant’s eligibility

  • Be a member of IEEE and the IEEE Victorian Section at the time of the submission
  • At the time of the submission the student must be registered as an undergraduate or graduate student in a regular course of study in an academic program and carrying greater than 50% of a normal full-time load
  • Be the author or co-author of the paper submitted and have contributed to at least 50% of the research presented

Paper eligibility

  • Papers must have either been accepted to a future conference, or a conference which has taken place within the 12 months prior to the competition deadline
  • Papers accepted to conferences which have already taken place must have been presented at that conference
  • Only one paper submission per submitting author is permitted

Paper format

  • The paper should be typewritten in double column format using font of 10 (Times New Roman) on A4 size and should not exceed 10 pages including figures and tables (see IEEE templates here).

Submission details

  • Final camera-read paper should be submitted in PDF format
  • Scanned completed and signed Declaration form should be filled in and submitted together with your paper using the link below
  • Paper and administration documents to be submitted into SUBMISSION PORTAL


  • Contest Opens April 15th 2016
  • Submission Closes 31st May 2016
  • Results Announced First week of July 2016
  • Contest award recipients invited to receive certificates and awards at Tuesday 2nd August (Section Meeting)

Past Winners 

2016 – Saman Asghari Gorji (Swinburne), Galvanically Isolated Quasi Switched-Boost-Based DC/DC Converter

2015 – Negin Shariati (RMIT University), Highly Sensitive FM Frequency Scavenger Integrated in Building Materials

Sahar Sabbaghi (Swinburne University of Technology), Automated Colour Identification in Melanocytic Lesions

2014 – Sergei Chichin (Swinburne University of Technology), Truthful Market-Based Trading of Cloud Services with Reservation Price

Fatemeh Jalali (University of Melbourne), Energy Consumption of Photo Sharing in Online Social Networks

2013 –  Mohammedreza Pourakbar (Victoria University), Studies on Die-to-Substrate Interconnects for High-Q PCB Inductors

2012 –  Isuru Wijesundera (University of Melbourne), A Computationally Efficient Framework for Stochastic Prediction of Flood Propagation

Md. Kamal Hossain (Deakin University), Multi-Layer Implantable Antenna for Closed-Loop Deep-Brain Stimulation System.

2011 – Hao Hao (Monash University), The Measurement of Multiple Retinal Images

–  Amir Vahid-Dastjerdi (University of Melbourne), QoS-Aware Deployment of Network of Virtual Appliances across Multiple Clouds

2010 – Sorrell Grogan (Monash University) , High Quality Voltage Regulation of a Five-Level Current Source Inverter

2009 – Kai Xi and Elma O’Sullivan-Greene

2008  Ganesh Naik & Sridhar